Vascular Surgery was established as a separate Division in the Department of Surgery at the University of Toronto in 1982 with the appointment of Dr. K. Wayne Johnston as Divisional Chair. Prior to this time, vascular surgery training was obtained in the Division of Cardiovascular Surgery predominantly under the supervision of Drs. Ronald Baird, Donald Wilson and James Key.

Before the formal establishment of a separate Division, two teaching hospitals created separate vascular surgery services. The Wellesley Hospital Division was established in 1978 and Dr. John Provan appointed as the Hospital Division Head and the service at The Toronto Hospital was also formed in 1978 with Dr. K. Wayne Johnston as the first Hospital Division Head. Dr. Thomas Lindsay then served as Division Chair.  

Dr. Thomas L. Forbes is the present Divisional Chair. 

The University of Toronto Division of Vascular Surgery has an active residency and fellowship program at the three main academic sites, University Health Network-Toronto General Hospital, St. Michael's Hospital and Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre. Clinical rotations also take place at Trillium and Humber Regional Hospitals.  

See the faculty section for a list of the participating faculty members.